Neil Young Announces Brand-New Album “The Monsanto Years”

The legendary singer-songwriter's upcoming LP is due out on June 19 via Reprise

It’s very common for musicians to speak out about causes that they care about, but very few put their money, or their talents, where their mouths are like Neil Young. Earlier this week, Young announced details about The Monsanto Years, his full-length follow-up to last year’s Storytone, which will find the icon collaborating with Promise of the Real‘s Micah and Lukas Nelson (Willie Nelson‘s sons) and speaking out against the album’s titular the mammoth agrochemical company.

Rolling Stone reports that Young spoke about the record and its activist message stating that “It’s an upbeat review of the situation.” Along with the Nelsons, Young has been debuting new material on tour that might show up on the new album including the aptly named song “Rock Starbucks.”

While there isn’t an official track listing yet, we do know that The Monsanto Years will be available on June 19 via Young’s longtime label Reprise, along with a making-of documentary about the recording process. You might be able to catch some new tracks live at one of Young’s upcoming shows. Check out the dates below.

Neil Young and Promise of the Real tour dates

05 Milwaukee, WI – Summerfest
08-09 Denver, CO – Red Rocks *
11 Lincoln, NE – Pinnacle Bank Arena *
13 Cincinnati, OH – Riverbend Music Center *
14 Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theatre
16 Camden, NJ – Susquehanna Bank Center *
17 Bethel, NY – Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
19 Essex Junction, VT – Champlain Valley Expo
21 Wantagh, NY – Jones Beach
22 Great Woods, MA – Xfinity Center
24 Oro-Medonte, Ontario – Wayhome Festival

* with Band of Horses

(via Pitchfork)


We won’t spam you. Promise.