LISTEN: Moon Duo Announces New Album, Share Raw Single, “Animal”

The track will be available as a 7” release in conjunction with the new LP, Shadows of the Sun.

For Moon Duo’s third full-length release, Shadows of the Sun, the band claims that they were working in a “rest period.” But in listening to the manic stomp that is “Animal,” their claim seems somewhat hard to believe.

That being said, for a band that’s chosen to record in locations that vary from Berlin to the Rocky Mountains, maybe their choice of Portland this time around did seem a bit relaxed.

Regardless, organist Sanae Yamada and Wooden Shjips guitarist Ripley Johnson are back with a new batch of Krautrock-fused jams out of hell, which will be out March 3 on Sacred Bones. “In a nod to a great pop tradition,” the track “Animal” will be released as the A-side of a 7” attached to every vinyl edition of the album.

Have a listen to that track, and take a look at the album art with tracklist below.

Shadows of the Sun tracklist

1. WildingMoon_Duo-Shadows of the Sun-Album Art
2. Night Beat
3. Free The Skull
4. Zero
5. In A Cloud
6. Thieves
7. Slow Down Low
8. Ice
9. Animal


We won’t spam you. Promise.