Big Thief Announce 4AD Debut, “U.F.O.F.,” Share First Single “UFOF”

The Brooklyn indie-folk troupe’s third LP is set to drop May 3.

Big Thief could very well have taken a breather immediately after releasing the best album of 2017—but instead, the ambitious Brooklynites gifted us with two impressive solo releases in 2018, ceaseless touring as a band and as solo artists, and now the news of a third proper LP, U.F.O.F., due out May 3.

Despite taking the leap from the tender Midwestern traditions of indie label Saddle Creek to 4AD, the international label known for manufacturing the extremely large sounds of dream pop, the Adrianne Lenker–led four-piece sound as soothing as ever on the record’s first preview, the three-minute near-title-track “UFOF.” What it lacks in the department of immediate emotional impact perfected on Capacity, it makes up for in dreamy speculation—perhaps even extraterrestrial intrigue.

Below, you can sample the track (if you’re into it, pre-order U.F.O.F. hereand sift through yet another new paragraph-length set of tour dates below for your city. 

International Tour Dates:

Sat. Apr. 20 – San Diego, CA @ Irenic
Thu. May 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre
Fri. May 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bootleg Theater
Sun. May 5 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
Sat. May 18 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club (SOLD OUT)
Sun. May 19 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3
Tues. May 21 – Dublin, IR @ Vicar Street
Wed. May 22 – Manchester, UK @ The Ritz
Thu. May 23 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Fri. May 24 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
Sun. May 26 – Cambridge, UK @ Cambridge Junction
Mon. May 27 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Tue. May 28 – Brussels, BE @ Orangerie
Thu. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Fri. May 31 – Nîmes, FR @ This Is Not a Love Song Festival
Sun. June 2 – Amsterdam, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Mon. June 3-6 – Marina Di Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew Festival
Mon. June 3 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. June 4 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Sat. June 8 – Porto, PT @ NOS Privaera Sound
Tue. August 6-10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Thu. August 8 – Copenhagen, DK @ Lille Vega
Thu. August 15-18 – Wales, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. August 16 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Thu. Oct. 10 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Fri. Oct. 11 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Oct. 12 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Sun. Oct. 13 – Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre
Tue. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe
Wed. Oct. 16 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Fri. Oct. 18 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Mon. Oct. 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Oct. 24 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 25 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Mon. Oct. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Fri. Nov. 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister
Mon. Nov. 4 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre
Tue. Nov. 5 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Thu. Nov. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Fri. Nov. 8 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sun. Nov. 10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

Newsletter

We won’t spam you. Promise.