PLAYLIST: oso oso’s Songs That Inspired “basking in the glow”

Jade Lilitri offers up ten tracks that informed the sounds of his band’s latest LP.

It was just ten years ago that the term “indie rock” denoted a band’s mission to sound as much like Veckatimest as possible, while “emo” was almost exclusively reserved for the auditory output of Hot Topic. Today, of course, neither of these terms really mean anything, as most bands seem to exist in some liminal state between the two—once classifiable acts like Glocca Morra and Snowing, for example, have broken up and reconvened as totally indescribable experimental outfits. 

Since dropping a handful of O’s from their band name, oso oso have always skirted this in-between space, beginning with their punky Real Stories LP and continuing on to the present day with their latest, the slightly toned down basking in the glow. By no means does it reach the solipsistic experimental heights of Spirit of the Beehive or Bad Heaven Ltd., but tracks like the ambient intro, “intro,” and the Hold Steady–inspired bar room riffs on the title track highlight the record’s distance from the emo tradition.

This experimental punk spirit comes through in a few of band leader Jade Lilitri’s picks for songs that inspired the new album, including artists like Ollie Byrd and Prince Daddy, while much of the rest of the track list he curated may come as a bit of a surprise. “This playlist is something you can listen to if you don’t feel like taking drugs, but you want the effect of drugs,” he advises. “Listen responsibly, plz.”

basking in the glow is out today via Triple Crown Records. You can order it here, and catch oso oso on tour with The Sidekicks and Future Teens through September per the dates below.

Thurs Aug 22 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
Fri Aug 23 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
Sat Aug 24 – Washington, DC – DC9
Sun Aug 25 – Philadelphia, PA – The Foundry
Tues Aug 27 – Durham, NC – Motorco
Weds Aug 28 – Orlando, FL – Soundbar
Thurs Aug 29 – Tampa, FL – Crowbar
Fri Aug 30 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade
Sat Aug 31 – Nashville, TN – The End
Mon Sept 2 – Austin, TX – Barracude Inside
Tues Sept 3 – Dallas, TX – Dada
Thurs Sept 5 – Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge
Fri Sept 6 – San Diego, CA – HOB Voodoo Room
Sat Sept 7 – Los Angeles, CA – The Hi Hat
Sun Sept 8 – Berkley, CA – 924 Gilman St
Tues Sept 10 – Portland, OR – Paris Theatre
Weds Sept 11 – Seattle, WA – Vera Project
Fri Sept 13 – Salt Lake City, UT – Loading Dock
Sat Sept 14 – Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge
Sun Sept 15 – Kansas City, MO – The Rino
Tues Sept 17 – Burnsville, MN – The Garage
Weds Sept 18 – Chicago, IL – Beat Kitchen
Thurs Sept 19 – Detroit, MI – Deluxx Flux
Fri Sept 20 – Lakewood, OH – The Foundry
Sat Sept 21 – Toronto, ON – Sneaky Dee’s
Sun Sept 22 – Pittsburgh, PA – Roboto Project

Newsletter

We won’t spam you. Promise.