Death Cab For Cutie Announces First Album In Four Years

Kintsugi, the latest release from the Ben Gibbard–fronted band, will be released on March 31 via Atlantic

After founding guitarist Chris Walla announced his departure last year, Death Cab For Cutie was left one member short as the group was about to go into record a brand-new album. Today the band has announced the name, track listing, and release date of that album, a musical diary of sorts recording the emotions and feelings of that tumultuous time.

Kintsugi—which is “the Japanese art of repairing broken ceramics with precious metals like gold, silver, and platinum, highlighting cracks rather than hiding them”—was a name suggested for Death Cab’s upcoming eighth full-length by bassist Nick Harmer, who felt that the LP helped the group learn to mend and face the issues they were facing:

Considering what we were going through internally, and with what a lot of the lyrics are about, it had a great deal of resonance for us—the idea of figuring out how to repair breaks and make them a thing of beauty. Philosophically, spiritually, emotionally, it seems perfect for this group of songs.

Check out the album art and song titles of the follow-up album to 2011’s Codes and Keys below. Kintsugi drops on March 31 via Atlantic.

Kintsugi tracklisting

Kintsugi_Cover_HR1. No Room in Frame
2. Black Sun
3. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
4. Little Wanderer
5. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
6. Hold No Guns
7. Everything’s a Ceiling
8. Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
9. El Dorado
10. Ingenue
11. Binary Sea



We won’t spam you. Promise.