LISTEN: Stephen Malkmus Releases Lead Single “Xian Man” Off New Album

Traditional Techniques will be out March 6 via Matador.

Stephen Malkmus is a busy man, announcing his third full-length in three years today. The forthcoming Traditional Techniques is out March 6 via Matador, and it’ll be his third solo LP without the Jicks. According to a press release, the new record creates “a serendipitous trilogy with the loose fuzz of the Jicks’ Sparkle Hard (2018) and the solo bedroom experiments of Groove Denied (2019).”

RELATED: In Conversation: Stephen Malkmus Learns New Tricks on “Groove Denied”

Traditional Techniques will feature Malkmus’ traditional folk-rock centered around his twelve-string acoustic guitar, but it also draws from a more adventurous musical palette, including a variety of Afghani instruments. It’s the product of both Malkmus and Halfling engineer/arranger-in-residence Chris Funk (The Decemberists), and Matt Sweeney (Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Chavez) plays guitar throughout.

Malkmus goes on a North American tour in support of the album this spring. Pre-order it here and see the tour dates below, plus listen to lead single “Xian Man.”

Stephen Malkmus Tour Dates:

Tue. March 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave
Wed. April 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Thu. April 2 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. April 3 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners
Sat. April 4 – Nashville, TN @ Cannery Ballroom
Sun. April 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Tue. April 7 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Wed. April 8 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Thu. April 9 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Fri. April 10 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sat. April 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Mon. April 13 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Wed. April 15 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. April 16 – Montreal, QC @ L’Astral
Fri. April 17 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Sat. April 18 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Sun. April 19 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall

Newsletter

We won’t spam you. Promise.