WATCH: Blur Mark Their Return with a Trip to the Ice Cream Store in Video for “Go Out”

Guitarist Graham Coxon and producer Stephen Street are back with the group for The Magic Whip, due out April 28 via Warner Bros. Records.

If you’re still recovering from the hardcore pancakes that METZ made earlier this week, perhaps a recovery desert is in order—this time in the form of some ice cream courtesy of Britpop legends Blur.

Along with the announcement that the group’s eighth album The Magic Whip is on the way, we were also treated with a low-key music video for the funky new single “Go Out,” which is basically a how-to for making ice-cream, complete with a tutorial and ingredients (in Chinese).

The most important news behind the news, of course, is that original guitarist Graham Coxon is back, as well as long-time producer Stephen Street, who both did not participate in 2003’s Think Tank (and it showed).

As for Damon Albarn himself, still no word on the progress of the announced “return” of Gorillaz, and how that will work in relation to Blur’s future. But don’t get your hopes up for anything immediate just yet: When asked about whether Blur plans to tour the US in support of The Magic Whip, Albarn replied, “Maybe. It depends on whether anyone’s interested.”

OK, Damon.

Full tracklist and album art for The Magic Whip below.

The Magic Whip tracklist

1. Lonesome StreetBlur-The_Magic_Whip-Album_Cover
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
4. Ice Cream Man
5. Thought I Was a Spaceman
6. I Broadcast
7. My Terracotta Heart
8. There are Too Many of Us
9. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirror Ball


The Magic Whip is out April 28 via Warner Bros. Records.


We won’t spam you. Promise.