LISTEN: Muse Drops Heavy New Track “Psycho,” Announces New Album

Drones is set for a June 9 release via Warner Bros. Records

There is no band out there today that better embodies the grand power of arena rock than Muse. The English trio has commanded stages with its brand of alt-prog rock for nearly twenty years, and shows no signs of slowing down. Yesterday, Muse announced details about its seventh full-length, Drones, and this morning the group released its first new track in three years.

“Psycho” is five minutes of bone-rattling bass and earth-shaking guitar shredding, all on top a solid and hypnotic beat. While not the official first single for the album, “Psycho” is an excellent introduction to Drones‘s sound. Recently, Muse’s frontman Matt Bellamy expanded on the sound and themes of the upcoming LP:

To me, ‘Drones’ are metaphorical psychopaths which enable psychopathic behavior with no recourse. The world is run by Drones utilizing Drones to turn us all into Drones. Drones explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors.

“Dead Inside”—the album’s first official single—will be premiered at some point during the week of March 23. Stay tuned for more details.

MUSE_DRONES-COVER-2400Drones track listing 

1. Dead Inside
2. [Drill Sergeant]
3. Psycho
4. Mercy
5. Reapers
6. The Handler
7. [JFK]
8. Defector
9. Revolt
10. Aftermath
11. The Globalist
12. Drones

Drones is set for a June 9 release via Warner Bros. Records.


We won’t spam you. Promise.