Beck Releasing “Song Reader” featuring Jack White, Jeff Tweedy, and More

At the end of 2012, twenty of Beck’s original compositions were released solely as a stunning set of sheet music, entitled Song Reader. The songs had only been performed in a handful of live settings…if you don’t count the thousands of versions by fans on YouTube.

Almost two years later, Beck is bringing this unique project to life by gathering some of his favorite artists and friends (including Martin Scorsese and Wes Anderson music supervisor, Randall Poster on coproducing duties) to record their own interpretations of these songs. Featuring artists like Jack White, Jason Isbell, Laura Marling, Eleanor Friedberger, Jack Black, and so many more, this recorded collection of Hansen’s imaginative and playful material will add another dimension to the daunting project.

Warby Parker will be releasing this all-star compilation on July 29.  Check out who is doing which songs below.


Beck’s Song Reader track listing:

1.  Moses Sumney – Title of this Song
2.  Fun – Please Leave A Light On When You Go
3.  Tweedy – The Wolf is on the Hill
4.  Norah Jones – Just Noise
5.  Lord Huron – Last Night You Were A Dream
6.  Bob Forrest – Saint Dude
7.  Jack White – I’m Down
8.  Beck – Heaven’s Ladder
9.  Juanes – Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard
10. Laura Marling – Sorry
11. Jarvis Cocker – Eyes That Say “I Love You”
12. David Johansen – Rough On Rats
13. Jason Isbell – Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings
14. The Last Polka – Marc Ribot
15. Eleanor Friedberger – Old Shanghai
16. Sparks – Why Did You Make Me Care?
17. Swamp Dogg – America, Here’s My Boy
18. Jack Black – We All Wear Cloaks
19. Loudon Wainwright III – Do We? We Do
20. Gabriel Kahane & yMusic – Mutilation Rag


We won’t spam you. Promise.