LISTEN: Vampire Weekend Bassist Chris Baio Shares Blippy New Single “Brainwash Yyrr Face,” Announces Debut Solo Album

The Names will drop September 18 on Glassnote

Chris Baio—best known as Vampire Weekend‘s bassist and resident dance pro—has shared the details for his debut solo LP as Baio, along with its opening track, “Brainwash Yyrr Face.” It’s a snappy electronic odyssey that features chopped-up vocal samples à la Four Tet and a driving, syncopated outro.

The upcoming record, The Names, takes its title from a Don DeLillo novel. Baio said in a press release, “The Names is a record that has reverberated through my mind for much of the last five years. Its themes began to take shape when I moved from New York to London in 2013. Today I’m delighted to share the first track of a record that I think is pretty tight!”

The Names is out September 18 on Glassnote

The Names tracklist

1. Brainwash yyrr Face Baio-The-Names_cover
2. The Names
3. Sister of Pearl
4. I Was Born in a Marathon
5. Needs
6. All the Idiots
7. Matter
8. Endless Rhythm
9. Scarlett




We won’t spam you. Promise.