LISTEN: Ms. Lauryn Hill Covers Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good”

One of Hill's six contributions to Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone

On June 26, Netflix will release What Happened, Miss Simone?, Liz Garbus‘ documentary about legendary singer Nina Simone. The tribute album Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone will be released to coincide with the documentary on July 10 and features tracks from Usher, Mary J. Blige, and Common with Lalah Hathaway.

The compilation will also feature six of Simone’s songs recorded by Lauryn Hill, including a fantastic version of “Feeling Good,” which Rolling Stone premiered today. According to Rolling Stone, Hill was originally set to record two tracks, but she became so swept up in the process that she ended up tripling the amount.

Below, give “Feeling Good” a listen and check out the track list for Nina Revisited. Then watch the trailer for What Happened, Miss Simone?

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone track list:

1. Lisa Simone – “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
2. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Feeling Good”
3. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “I’ve Got Life” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
4. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Ne Me Quitte Pas” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
5. Jazmine Sullivan “Baltimore”
6. Grace – “Love Me or Leave Me”
7. Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
8. Mary J. Blige – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
9. Gregory Porter – “Sinnerman”
10. Common & Lalah Hathaway – “YG&B”
11. Alice Smith – “I Put A Spell On You”
12. Lisa Simone – “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl”
13. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”
14. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Wild Is The Wind”
15. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “African Mailman”
16. Nina Simone – “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”

(via Rolling Stone)


We won’t spam you. Promise.