LISTEN: Brazilian Psych Rockers Boogarins Share Darkly Tropical Single “Avalanche”

The song was written in response to their native country's unrest during last year's World Cup

As exciting as the World Cup is, it’s hard to turn a blind eye to how poorly FIFA treats the tournament’s host countries, and no one knows that better than last year’s host, Brazil.

“Avalanche”—the new single from Brazilian psychedelic four-piece Boogarins—was written in response to the nation’s unrest during last year’s World Cup, when new high-rise hotels and FIFA facilities changed the skyline of Rio de Janeiro’s Copacabana beach. Frontman Fernando “Dino” Almeida sings in Portuguese, “My cries have the strength to knock down all of the buildings, they will not let me see the sun,” along to the entrancing twang of tropical, psychedelic guitar lines.

“Avalanche” is the first single from their upcoming sophomore album Manual, which is out October 30 on Other Music. You can see the tracklist and album cover below.

Listen to “Avalanche” here, and head over to the band’s website to get a free download of the song.

Manual tracklist

1. Truques Boogarins_Manual_cover
2. Avalanche
3. Tempo
4. 6000 Dias
5. Mario de Andrade – Selvagem
6. Falsa Folha de Rosto
7. Benzin
8. San Lorenzo
9. Cuerdo
10. Sei Lá
11. Auchma


Manual is out October 30th on Other Music.


We won’t spam you. Promise.