LISTEN: Run The Jewels Rage On “Close Your Eyes (And Count To Fuck)”

Featuring Rage Against the Machine's Zack de la Rocha

For hip-hop duo Run The Jewels’ anticipated sophomore album, MCs Killer Mike and El-P have cast a line back into the ’90s to bring a couple of unexpected special guests onboard. Zack de la Rocha, of Rage Against the Machine fame, has resurfaced to provide the bedrock for RTJ2‘s leadoff single, “Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck).” Not only did they cut up a sample of de la Rocha’s vocal hook as the guiding rhythm track, but the patron saint of adolescent unrest also has a verse to himself. If that’s not weird enough, Blink 182 drummer Travis Barker is on the album, too. RTJ2 is out October 27 on Mass Appeal Records. Hear “Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck)” below.

RTJ2 tracklist

1. JeopardyRTJ2_Album-Art_2014
2. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
3. Blockbuster Night Part 1
4. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) [feat. Zack de la Rocha]
5. All My Life
6. Lie, Cheat, Steal
7. Early [feat. BOOTS]
8. All Due Respect [feat. Travis Barker]
9. Love Again (Akinyele Back) [feat. Gangsta Boo]
10. Crown [feat. Diane Coffee]
11. Angel Duster
12. Blockbuster Night Part 2 [feat. Despot and Wiki] (bonus track)


We won’t spam you. Promise.