WATCH: Savages Announce New Album “Adore Life,” Share Video for “The Answer”

"Loud guitar music is still alive and it still connects people."

Savages crossed the ocean this summer to play a few gigs, bringing confrontation and heaviness—musical and otherwise—along with them. At LA’s FYF Fest, with the Olympic torch burning on the opposite side of the field, the band’s short set felt a bit like a trance, with singer Jehnny Beth stalking across the stage before giving her body over to the crowd.

That commanding power is on full display in the clip for “The Answer,” the band’s new video and the first single from Adore Life, the followup to their 2013 debut, Silence Yourself. In a statement, Savages said that they wanted a video that “felt like banging your head against the wall, focusing on our audience: a portrait of our crowd… We were touched by them every night and wanted to get their message out there: loud guitar music is still alive and still connects people.”

As they did with Silence Yourself, Savages have also released a statement to accompany Adore Life. That statement is below, along with the album’s artwork and track list.

“It’s about change and the power to change. It’s about metamorphosis and evolution. It’s about sticking to your guns and toughing it out. It’s about now, not tomorrow. It’s about recognizing your potential. It’s about self-doubt and inaction. It’s about you. It’s about me. It’s about you and me and the others. It’s about the choices we make. It’s about finding the poetry and avoiding the cliché. It’s about being the solution, not the problem. It’s about showing weakness to be strong. It’s about digging through your dirt to look for diamonds. It’s about claiming your right to think unacceptable thoughts. It’s about boredom and the things we do to drive it away. It’s about being on your own so you can be with people. It’s about knowing what it means to be human and what it might mean one day. It’s about the parts and the sum of the parts. It’s about the music and the message: together, one and the same. It’s about bass, guitars, drums, and vocals. It’s about opening-out and never, ever dying. But most of all it’s about love, every kind of love. Love is the answer.”

Adore Life track list
1. The AnswerSavages-2015-Adore_Life
2. Evil
3. Sad Person
4. Adore
5. I Need Something New
6. Slowing Down The World
7. When In Love
8. Surrender
9. T.I.W.Y.G.
10. Mechanics

Adore Life is out January 22 on Matador.


We won’t spam you. Promise.