WATCH: The Walkmen’s Walter Martin Shares Adorable Trailer For New Album About Art History

Arts & Leisure will be released on January 29.

Of all the solo careers that began in the wake of The Walkmen‘s disbandment, Walter Martin‘s has been the most unique. His solo debut, a collection of kids’ songs called We’re All Young Together, was an homage to innocence that featured contributions from Karen O of Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Now, Martin has announced the details of his sophomore release Arts & Leisure, which, as stated in the quirky trailer below, is about art history, or, “at least what he can remember from college art history classes.” 

The new record was recorded by Martin himself, and will be released on his own label, Ile Flottante Music, on January 29. It features contributions from Walkmen drummer Matt Barrick and was mixed by Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, The Shins). See the album’s artwork and tracklist below.

Arts & Leisure tracklist

1. Jobs I Had Before I Got Rich and Famous walter-martin_arts-and-leisure_cover
2. Daniel in the Lions’ Den
3. Down By the Singing Sea
4. Calder’s Circus
5. Michelangelo
6. Amsterdam
7. Charles Rennie Mackintosh
8. In a Gothic Church
9. Watson and the Shark
10. Old as Hell
11. The Tourist



We won’t spam you. Promise.