LISTEN: Animal Collective Share “FloriDada,” From New Album “Painting With”

Out February 19 on Domino.

On Friday, Animal Collective debuted their new album over the PA system at the Baltimore airport, which probably made for some confused holiday travelers. Now, the group have shared “FloriDada,” the album’s lead single, and you don’t have to go through security to hear it. “FloriDada” is the opening track from Painting With, Animal Collective’s first record since 2012’s Centipede Hz. Like Merriweather Post Pavilion before it, the album was recorded by Panda Bear, Avey Tare, and Geologist (fourth member Deakin having apparently sat out the sessions), and if “FloriDada” is any indication, the album represents a turn back toward the bouncing, wiggy pop of that record rather than a continuation of Centipede Hz‘s maximalist prog.

Three covers have been created for the album, each of which features a painting of one of the band members by Brian DeGraw. Additionally, the deluxe version of the LP will come with a bonus 7″ of two non-album tracks and a zoetropic slipmat that animates when flashed with a strobe light.

You can hear “FloriDada,” and see the three album covers and Painting With‘s track list, below.


Painting With track list
01 FloriDada
02 Hocus Pocus
03 Vertical
04 Lying in the Grass
05 The Burglars
06 Natural Selection
07 Bagels In Kiev
08 On Delay
09 Spilling Guts
10 Summing The Wretch
11 Golden Gal
12 Recycling

Painting With is out February 19 on Domino.


We won’t spam you. Promise.