WATCH: Sleater-Kinney Returns With “Bury Our Friends” Video, Announces New Album

Carrie Brownstein: "We sound possessed on these songs."

Sleater-Kinney is finally good and unrested. Carrie Brownstein, Corin Tucker, and Janet Weiss have announced No Cities To Love, their first album as Sleater-Kinney in a decade and eighth overall. Full-scale North American and European tours will follow. This comes as no huge surprise, since the idea of new material has been teased repeatedly in recent interviews, and the band reunited alongside Pearl Jam to cover Neil Young’s “Rockin’ In the Free World” last year. Still, exciting news.

Despite the hiatus, Brownstein, Tucker, and Weiss have stayed busy with a number of side projects, including Brownstein and Fred Armisen’s beloved sketch-comedy show Portlandia, The Corin Tucker Band, and the short-lived riot grrrl supergroup Wild Flag. As a bonus, the news is accompanied by a lyric video for album cut, “Bury Our Friends,” featuring filmmaker Miranda July dancing in a curious mask. See that below along with the tracklist and album art. No Cities To Love is out on Sub Pop on January 20.


No Cities To Love tracklist

1. Price TagSleater-Kinney_No-Cities-To-Love_2014
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities To Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade


We won’t spam you. Promise.