WATCH: Kevin Morby Announces “Singing Saw,” His Third Solo Album, with an Eerie Trailer

Guess this dude is officially...out of the Woods… Get it? Like, he might be out of Woods, the band. You wouldn’t understand.

BoJack muse and heat-seeking FYF standout Kevin Morby was originally known as the bassist of the New York interdimensional folk act Woods, but in the past few years, the Texas native has branched out. In addition to several solo releases—most recently last year’s Still Life—he also formed The Babies with former Vivian Girls member Cassie Ramone, releasing two albums under that name.

Just days after the announcement of a new Woods album, Morby has announced a new record for himself, which certainly seems to imply that, with no bad blood present, he is more or less no longer a member of his previous group—at least for now. Regardless, Singing Saw, Morby’s third solo release, will arrive on April 15 by way of Dead Oceans.

The upcoming release was said to be inspired in part by Morby’s role in The Complete Last Waltz, a live band specializing in the recreation of The Band’s famous last performance, as well as by an upright piano and sheet music left behind by previous tenants of his current Los Angeles home—which we can only imagine is called Big…Red or something.

You can wander the hills with Morby in the album teaser video, and take a look at the Singing Saw tracklisting and album cover, below.

Singing Saw tracklisting

Kevin_Morby-2016-Singing_Saw_cover_hi-res1. Cut Me Down
2. I Have Been to the Mountain
3. Singing Saw
4. Drunk and on a Star
5. Dorothy
6. Ferris Wheel
7. Destroyer
8. Black Flowers
9. Water



Singing Saw is out April 15 via Dead Oceans.


We won’t spam you. Promise.