LISTEN: Moderat Share “Reminder” of Their Forthcoming LP “III”

The alliance of Modeselektor and Apparat is back, and they've brought percussion with them.

Modeselektor and Apparat originally came together in the highly influential Berlin rave scene, releasing a self-titled record as Moderat in 2009 and following it up with II in 2013. Now, they’re preparing the aptly titled III, which will be out April 1 on Mute. 

Today, the trio—Modeselektor’s Gernot Bronsert and Sebastian Szary, and Apparat’s Sascha Ring—have released the album’s first single, “Reminder.” The song shifts breezily between popping clatters of percussion and tentative club breaks in a way that lightly recalls Thom Yorke’s Atoms for Peace—no surprise given Yorke’s long-established admiration of the German group.

In addition to releasing III, Moderat will be bringing their beats to North America this summer for a tour. The album’s info and those dates are below.


III track list

“Eating Hooks”Moderat-2016-III-Cover
“The Fool”
“Animal Trails”

Moderat tour dates

19 New York, NY – Webster Hall
20 Montréal, Québec – Metropolis
21 Chicago, IL – Concord Music Hall
23 Vancouver, British Columbia – Vogue Theatre
24 Seattle, WA – The Showbox
26 Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre
27 San Diego, CA – The Observatory North Park
28 Bradley, CA – Lightning in a Bottle Festival

III is out April 1 on Mute/Monkeytown.


We won’t spam you. Promise.