LISTEN: Wilco Announce “Ode to Joy” and Share Lead Single

The new album is out October 4 via dBpm Records. 

Over three years since the release of Schmilco, Wilco’s last full-length, the band has announced a follow-up. Ode to Joy promises big folk songs and delicate feelings, as described by the group’s spiritual leader Jeff Tweedy, who’s released two solo records of his own over the last two years. 

RELATED: Aging with the Band: Wilco and the Intersection of Mythologies

The title of the lead single off the new album, “Love is Everywhere (Beware),” seems to signify both a hope and a caution. A press release calls the track “extrospective,” which is the opposite of introspective. Extrospection means observing the outside world, as opposed to the internal. Listen to the pleasantly buoyant song below.

“There MUST be more love than hate. Right?!” Jeff Tweedy says of the single. “I’m not always positive we can be so sure. In any case, I’m starting to feel like being confident in that equation isn’t always the best motivation for me to be my best self—it can kind of let me off the hook a little bit when I think I should be striving to contribute more love outside of my comfortable sphere of family and friends. So… I guess the song is sort of a warning to myself that YES, Love IS EVERYWHERE, but also BEWARE! I can’t let that feeling absolve me of my duty to create more.” 

Ode to Joy is out October 4 via dBpm Records. Pre-order it here and check out tour dates below.  

Wilco Tour Dates:

Wed. Sept. 4 – Trondheim, NO @ Tapperiet &
Fri. Sept. 6 – Stavanger, NO @ Stavanger Konserthus Zetlitz &
Sat. Sept. 7 – Bergen, NO @ USF Verftet &
Sun. Sept. 8 – Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene &
Tue. Sept. 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Gra Hal &
Thu. Sept. 12 – Berlin, DE @ Tempodrom &
Fri. Sept. 13 – Cologne, DE @ Carlswerk Victoria &
Sat. Sept. 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Elbphilharmonie – SOLD OUT
Sun. Sept. 15 – Warsaw, PL @ Progresja &
Wed. Sept. 18 – Zürich, CH @ Volkshaus *
Thu. Sept. 19 – Milan, IT @ Fabrique *
Fri. Sept. 20 – Padova, IT @ Gran Teatro Geox *
Sun. Sept. 22 – Paris, FR @ Le Trianon *
Mon. Sept. 23 – Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg Grote Zaal *
Tue. Sept. 24 – Antwerp, BE @ De Roma * – SOLD OUT
Thu. Sept. 26 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands *
Fri. Sept. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall *
Sat. Sept. 28 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo *
Tue. Oct. 8 – Toronto, ON @ Budweiser Stage (w/ special guest Lord Huron)
Thu. Oct. 10 – Boston, MA @ Boch Center Wang Theatre
Fri. Oct. 11 – Boston, MA @ Boch Center Wang Theatre
Sat. Oct. 12 – New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall – SOLD OUT
Sun. Oct. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel – SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 15 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Wed. Oct. 16 – Cary, NC @ Koka Booth Amphitheatre
Fri. Oct. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ Cadence Bank Amphitheatre at Chastain Park
Sat. Oct. 19 – Birmingham, AL @ Alabama Theatre
Sun. Oct. 20 – Nashville, TN @ Grand Ole Opry House
Tue. Oct. 22 – Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom – SOLD OUT
Wed. Oct. 23 – Irving, TX @ The Pavilion at the Toyota Music Factory
Fri. Oct. 25 – Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center
Sat. Oct. 26 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater – SOLD OUT
Sun. Oct. 27 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater – SOLD OUT
Mon. Nov. 4 – Grand Rapids @ 20 Monroe Live
Tue. Nov. 5 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Hill Auditorium
Wed. Nov. 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Heinz Hall
Fri. Nov. 8 – Charlottesville, VA @ Sprint Pavilion
Sat. Nov. 9 – Cincinnati, OH @ Taft Theatre
Sun. Nov. 10 – Columbus, OH @ Palace Theatre
Tue. Nov. 12 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Murat Theatre
Wed. Nov. 13 – Louisville, KY @ The Louisville Palace
Thu. Nov. 14 – St. Louis, MO @ Fabulous Fox Theatre
Fri. Nov. 15 – Cedar Rapids, IA @ Paramount Theatre
Sun. Nov. 17 – Kansas City, MO @ Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland
Tue. Nov. 19 – Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom
Wed. Nov. 20 – Omaha, NE @ Orpheum Theatre
Sat. Jan. 18 – Tue. Jan. 21 – Riviera Maya, MX @ Hard Rock Hotel

&= w/ Spiral Stairs
*= w/ Ohmme

Newsletter

We won’t spam you. Promise.