Black Thought Announces “Streams of Thought Vol. 3: Cane and Abel” Ft. Pusha T, Portugal. The Man, and More

The next chapter of The Roots co-founder’s solo series also features Killer Mike, ScHoolboy Q, and Swizz Beats.

With a title a playing on the story of Cain and Abel, the biblical tale of brotherly betrayal, Black Thought’s latest installment of his acclaimed Streams of Thought series delves into the real-life rifts of unity and the continuing black struggle.

A follow up to his 2018 solo debuts Streams of Thought Vol 1. and Vol. 2, The Roots’ Black Thought opens this next chapter with the first single “Thought Vs. Everybody,” due out on July 10. The full Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel EP is due out June 31.

Produced entirely by Sean C (Diddy, Jay-Z, Joey Bada$$), the 13-track EP delves into Thought’s freestyle storytelling, with guests including Killer Mike, Portugal. The Man, Pusha T, Swizz Beats, ScHoolboy Q, Dodgr, and The Last Artful.

Thought, who recently teamed up with Rapsody, Nas and fellow Roots cohort Questlove for a remix of  Public Enemy’s “Fight the Power at the BET Awards, recruited New York-Based visual artist Khari Turner for the EP’s striking cover art.

Check out the cover art and the full track listing below.

Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel EP:

01 I’m Not Crazy (First Contact)
02 State Prisoner
03 Good Morning [ft. Swizz Beatz, PUSHA-T and Killer Mike]
04 Magnificent
05 Experience (Interlude)
06 Quiet Trip [ft. Portugal. The Man and The Last Artful, Dodgr]
07 Nature of the Beast [ft. Portugal. The Man and The Last Artful, Dodgr]
08 We Should Be Good [ft. C.S. Armstrong]
09 Steak Um [ft. ScHoolboy Q]
10 Thought vs. Everybody
11 Ghetto Boyz & Girls [ft. C.S. Armstrong]
12 Fuelt [ft. Portugal. The Man and The Last Artful, Dodgr]
13 I’m Not Crazy (Outro)


We won’t spam you. Promise.