The National Announce Remastered Reissues of Their First Three Albums

Their self-titled debut, Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers, and the Cherry Tree EP will return February 26.

It seems like The National saw the biggest spike in listenership with their fourth studio album, Boxer, in 2007, leading to its predecessor Alligator (with its unofficial Obama anthem) becoming something of a cult hit, and paving the way for succeeding records from the band to achieve immediate acclaim. Yet the band’s first three records—2001’s kind-of-country self-titled debut, 2003’s slightly National-ier Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers, and 2004’s coming-into-their-own Cherry Tree EP—never saw too much attention.

With the intention of changing that, the band is announcing today that the three records will be remastered and reissued early next year via their label home for the past decade, 4AD. Reworked at Abbey Road Studios, expect the three albums out February 26, and find more info on the project below.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by The National (@thenational)


We won’t spam you. Promise.