LISTEN: Surfer Blood Release New Track “Dorian,” Announce New Album and New Label

The Florida rockers shed their major label for upcoming 1000 Palms 

Following their 2013 major label debut on Warner Bros. with their sophomore album Pythons, Surfer Blood have announced that their third LP, 1000 Palms, will be released on indie imprint Joyful Noise in what’s being called “a return to their DIY roots.”

In a press release, the band said, “The most important part of making this record was not over-thinking it, something we’ve been guilty of in the past. Instead we mostly ignored matters of length, structure, and instrumentation for the sake of leaving the material as undiluted as possible.”

You can sample their newfound simplicity with the easygoing bob of single “Dorian” below (which premiered today over at Noisey), along with the album art and tracklisting. 1000 Palms is out May 12.

1000 Palms tracklist

Sufer-Blood_1000-Palms_cover1. Grand Inquisitor
2. Island
3. I Can’t Explain
4. Feast/Famine
5. Point of No Return
6. Sabre-Tooth and Bone
7. Covered Wagons
8. Dorian
9. Into Catacombs
10. Other Desert Cities
11. NW Passage



We won’t spam you. Promise.