LISTEN: Godspeed You! Black Emperor Release Seven-Minute “Excerpt” from New Record

Track is titled "Peasantry or 'Light Inside Of Light!,'" off of "Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress"

Perhaps it’s no surprise from a band that produces restless and riotous music that hiatus life just wasn’t for them.

After a lengthy musical and touring break, our Canadian sonic masters Godspeed You! Black Emperor returned to us in 2012 with ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, which won the 2013 Polaris Music Prize (though the band declined to attend for political reasons). This week, GY!BE announced that record’s follow-up, called Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress”.

Along with the announcement, the band has released an excerpt from the new record that, by clocking in at the seven-minute mark, is of course far too short for a complete GY! track. Listen to the drony glory of “Peasantry or ‘Light Inside Of Light!'” below.

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress” is out March 31 on Constellation.


We won’t spam you. Promise.