Big Thief Announce New Album with the Rush of “Time Escaping”

The forthcoming album Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You is out February 11 via 4AD.

Over the past couple months, Big Thief have let a slew of four singles trickle out. Now, they’ve announced a new double album titled Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You which contains all of those songs and plenty more. The forthcoming album, which contains 20 tracks in total, was whittled down from an initial 45 completed songs recorded across Upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, the Rocky Mountains, and Tucson, Arizona.

“One of the things that bonds us together as a band is pure magic,” Adrianne Lenker said in a statement. “I think we all have the same guide and none of us have ever spoken what it is because we couldn’t name it, but somehow, we are all going for the same thing, and when we hit it…we all know it’s it, but none of us to this day, or maybe ever, will be able to articulate in words what the ‘it’ is. Something about it is magic to me.”

The announcement comes with another single titled “Time Escaping,” which finds the group breaking new ground. It’s a hodgepodge of rhythmic elements as Lenker seems to pluck lyrics from her subconscious. At one point she states, “It’s music. It’s music!”—the press release reveals that this part came about when Lenker’s dog Oso ran into the vocal booth during the final recording. Lenker plainly explains to the innocent creature the magic unfolding around it.

Listen to “Time Escaping” below, and pre-order Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You here.


We won’t spam you. Promise.