LISTEN: Wild Nothing Announces “Life of Pause,” Shares Two New Tracks

You can hear “To Know You” and “TV Queen” below.

Early this morning, Jake Tatum (a.k.a. Wild Nothing) revealed the impending release of his third full-length album Life of Pause, which is out February 19 on Captured Tracks and is produced by Thom Monahan (Vetiver, Devendra Banhart, Au Revoir Simone).

Beyond gaining the knowledge that 2016 will feature Tatum’s followup to 2012’s Nocturne, he gifted the world a single Youtube video of two nonconsecutive cuts off of the album. Both tracks—“To Know You” and “TV Queen”—feature Wild Nothing’s signature blend of synths and fuzzed-out guitars within an expansive soundscape.

About Life in Pause, Tatum has promised a new side and sound to Wild Nothing:

I’m terrified by the idea of being any one thing, or being of any one genre. And whether or not I accomplish that, I know that my only hope of getting there is to constantly reinvent. That reinvention doesn’t need to be drastic, but every new record has to have it’s own identity, and it has to have a separate set of goals from what came before.

Check out the album’s cover art and track listing below.

Life in Pause track listing

WildNothing_2015_LifeofPause1. Reichpop
2. Lady Blue
3. A Woman’s Wisdom
4. Japanese Alice
5. Life of Pause
6. Alien
7. To Know You
8. Adore
9. TV Queen
10. Whenever I
11. Love Underneath My Thumb



Life in Pause is out on February 19, 2016 via Captured Tracks.


We won’t spam you. Promise.