LISTEN: Thomas Fekete Shares “Treason” from Surprise Lo-fi Bedroom Album “Burner”

All proceeds go towards Fekete’s ongoing cancer treatment.

Before the release of Surfer Blood’s third album 1000 Palms, guitarist Thomas Fekete announced that he was going through a very serious battle with cancer, forcing him to step back from the band in order to face a treatment regimen. Support has been tremendous so far, and last month Joyful Noise spearheaded a rad compilation and auction to benefit Fekete’s medical fund.

Heading into the New Year, the label has announced the first-ever solo release from Fekete—a home-recording release called Burner—which is out digitally and on cassette starting today, with one-hundred percent of the funds going towards Fekete’s treatment. Fekete says that Burner was recorded on a four-track with single takes as he has been coping with his illness:

Some of these songs reflect on good times, days I’m able to walk on my own, talk, and function like a somewhat normal human being. Others remind me of barfing between vocal takes, wheel chairs, dilaudid withdrawals, and tears, from my family, my spouse, my dear friends. However, like everything in my life, I did manage to find some humor in my situation, and I hope that helps level out all the heavy stuff.

You can donate to Fekete’s medical costs here, and listen to the track “Treason”—a lo-fi pop fragment in the spirit of Daniel Johnston—below.

Thomas_Fekete-2015-Burner_cover_med_resBurner tracklist

1. Loser Uncle
2. Ocean
3. Weather Press
4. Roll On River
5. Banklet
6. Knife Bank
7. Treason
8. Problems
9. Gold
10. Melk Mustache
11. Pick Up The Things That You Need

Burner is out now on Joyful Noise.


We won’t spam you. Promise.