LISTEN: Damien Jurado Takes “Exit 353” Off of Psychedelic Freeway, Announces New LP

Visions of Us on the Land is out March 18.

In 2012, singer-songwriter Damien Jurado released Maraqopa, an album that was, in his words, supposed to be “a quick snapshot” of a kind of safe space he inhabits in his own mind. That snapshot soon blew out into a lush 70mm widescreen film of sorts thanks to producer Richard Swift and Jurado’s twinned vision. Two years later, Jurado’s Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son continued the Maraqopa story, and this March, the trilogy will reach its conclusion with the release of Visions of Us on the Land.

Where Eternal Son found our hero ensconced in a commune, Visions follows he and a companion as they travel back out into the world. You can take a peek through their third eyes with “Exit 353,” which is below, and check out the album’s cover and track list.

Visions of Us on the Land track list

1. November 20Damien_Jurado-2016-Visions_of_Us_on_the_Land-Cover
2. Mellow Blue Polka Dot
4. Lon Bella
5. Sam and Davy
6. Prisms
9. On the Land Blues
10. Walrus
11. Exit 353
12. Cinco de Tomorrow
13. And Loraine
14. A.M. A.M.
15. Queen Anne
16. Orphans in the Key of E
17. Kola

Visions of Us on the Land is out March 18 on Secretly Canadian.


We won’t spam you. Promise.