Call it a Comeback: Your 2016 Golden Globe Winners

It was a big night for movies about defeating certain death.

If the events of 2015—the mass shootings, the police brutality, the looming specter of this year’s election—brought us right up to the edge of the abyss, it seems only right that we’d award the art that laughs (or at least stammers tonguelessly) in death’s face.

At least the Hollywood Foreign Press Association seems to think so. At last night’s Golden Globe Awards, the HPFA awarded films whose protagonists overcome desperate odds and fight back from the brink. That meant big nights for Best Director winner Alejandro Iñárritu‘s The Revenant, which took home the award for Best Motion Picture—Drama and Best Performance By an Actor—Drama (Leonardo DiCaprio), and The Martian, which took the award in both categories for comedy; Matt Damon presumably likes them apples. Brie Larson‘s escape from confinement in Room won her the award for Best Performance By an Actress—Drama. Kate Winslet, meanwhile, won the same award in comedy for Steve Jobs. Ennio Morricone‘s Hateful Eight score brought home the gold, as did Sam Smith and Disclosure‘s theme for Spectre.

The world of television was a bit more surprising, with American Horror Story‘s Lady Gaga beating out Fargo‘s Kirsten Dunst for the Best Performance By an Actress in a Limited Series. Additionally, Fargo‘s Patrick Wilson lost Best Performance by an Actor in a Limited Series to Show Me a Hero‘s Oscar Isaac, and the show lost the overall category to Wolf Hall. Fargo hasn’t had a night this bad since Rye Gerhardt went missing.

In another big surprise, Mozart in the Jungle beat out Transparent for Best Television Series—Musical or Comedy, and the former’s Gael García Bernal won the acting award. Rachel Bloom won Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series—Musical or Comedy for Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Mr. Robot brought home the award for Best Television Series—Drama, with Taraji P. Henson and Jon Hamm winning best dramatic actress and actor.

You can see the entire list of winners and nominees here.


We won’t spam you. Promise.