Bar Band Supergroup Diamond Rugs Announce New Album, “Cosmetics”

The follow up to the band’s self-titled debut is out February 24 via Sycamore Records.

The boozy bar band Diamond Rugs, which features members from Deer Tick, Black Lips, Dead Confederate, and, um, Los Lobos and Six Finger Satellite, can be considered a supergroup in the same way that a 3 a.m. breakfast at Denny’s can be considered a “Grand Slam.” It kind of depends on your state of mind. But in their first go-round in 2012, the no-frills, dirty rock-and-roll group made waves and showed a lot of promise (just take a look at their Letterman performance if you’re still trying to figure out what they’re capable of).

This February, Diamond Rugs will release their second LP, Cosmetics, which was recorded on 1-inch 8-track tape just like their debut. The release is also notable for being Ian Saint Pé’s first since he quietly left Black Lips earlier this year.

The album is available for pre-order now on their site, for which you’ll receive a download of the first track, “Voodoo Doll,” and have the option of including the essential additions of a trucker hat and beer koozie to your purchase. Of course.

Check out the tracklist below.

Cosmetics track list

1. Voodoo Doll
2. Thunk
3. Couldn’t Help It
4. Meant To Be
5. Live and Shout It
6. So What
7. Ain’t Religion
8. Killin’ Time
9. Blame
10. Clean
11. Motel Room


We won’t spam you. Promise.