PREMIERE: Strap in for Jade Hairpins’ Video for Album Opener “J Terrapin”

The Fucked Up offshoot’s debut “Harmony Avenue” is out May 29 via Merge Records.

Jade Hairpins are here to give Young Guv a run for their money as the most infectious power-pop derivative of hardcore humanists Fucked Up. In stark contrast with Damian Abraham’s gruff vocals and his band’s orchestral punk compositions, the songs from FU drummer Jonah Falco’s collaboration with guitarist/songwriter Mike Haliechuk always go down easy and linger for days.

The latest from the duo’s Merge debut, Harmony Avenue, arrives today in video form: “J Terrapin” is a two-minute, unrelenting burner sounding more than a little like the softcore punk found in Dirtnap Records’ discography. The clip for “J” doubles down on the overstimulation, presenting rapid fire lyrics and imagery filtered through the aesthetic of ’60s rock vinyl art. Try keeping up in the video below.

Harmony Avenue is out May 29 via Merge Records—pre-order it here.


We won’t spam you. Promise.