Articles by Mike LeSuer

Durand Jones & the Indications Break Down Their Dancefloor-Friendly LP “Private Space” Track by Track

The Bloomington neo-soul group’s latest album is out now via Dead Oceans and Coalmine Records.

Oberhofer Sets His Spirit Free on New Single “What Does It Mean to Me?”

The single follows a handful of one-off tracks and collaborations, most recently appearing on Rostam’s “Changephobia” LP.

Liily Relinquish All Forms of Control in “Odds Are It’s Blue” Video

The new single follows ​​“I Am Who I Think You Think I Am,” the band’s first new music in two years, which was released last month.

Hear Xiu Xiu’s “Melted Shoes” Remix of Melted Bodies’ “99 Scents”

The track arrives ahead of the LA experimental rockers’ remixed version of “Enjoy Yourself,” which drops August 6 via Plastic Smiles.

Spring Silver Shares Self-Made Video for “Mountebank” Illustrating Friends’ Reactions to the Track

The visual arrives ahead of the two-year anniversary cassette reissue of their debut LP “The Natural World,” arriving August 30 via Moon Physics.

Alex Orange Drink Endures the Chemical Mixup Known as Love on “It’s Only Drugz (Limerence)”

“Everything Is Broken, Maybe That’s O.K.” arrives September 17 via Shea Stadium Records and Freeman Street.

Caroline Loveglow Signs to 100% Electronica, Shares Debut Single “Patience Etc…”

The LA-based songwriter’s debut album will arrive later this year along with a pair of West Coast dates alongside George Clanton, Negative Gemini, and Magdalena Bay.

Sirius Blvck Shares an Early Stream of His New Reference-Heavy LP “Cinephile”

The Indianapolis rapper offers a preview of his latest release, out tomorrow via Near Mint Records.

Flamingosis Revisits the Golden Age of Frisbee in “Avenue of the Fireflies” Video

The visual accompanies a track from the electronic musician’s recently released debut album, “Daymaker.”

Stuck Announce New EP “Content That Makes You Feel Good,” Share First Single Which Makes You Feel Bad

“City of Police” marks the Chicago post-punks’ first release with Exploding in Sound Records.

Yuma Abe Practices New Body Movements in His “Many Strange Things” Video

The VIDEOTAPEMUSIC-directed clip soundtracks the track from Abe’s debut solo LP “Fantasia.”

UFO Fev and Vanderslice Break Down Their Surreal New Album “Enigma of Dalí” Track by Track

The collaboration between the NYC emcee and Phoenixville producer is out today via Coalmine Records.

Watch Catbite Trip on Banana Bread in Video for New Single “Bad Influence”

The Philly ska revivalists’ new track arrives ahead of their LP “Nice One,” out August 6.

Jodi Shares Their Musical Mood Board for “Blue Heron”

Nick Levine reveals a playlist of influences on their debut record, out this Friday via Sooper Records.

VIAL Are Cluelessly in Love in Their Catchy New Single “Something More”

The track arrives ahead of “Loudmouth,” the Minneapolis four-piece’s album due out July 30 via Get Better Records.

Gringo Star Return with New Single “I’d Find You Again”

It’s the first new recording from the Atlanta garage rockers since 2018’s “Back to the City” LP.

Hear an Early Stream of Smile Machine’s Debut EP “Bye for Now”

Read Blakely’s track-by-track breakdown of the project, officially out this Friday via Exploding in Sound.

Joe Taylor Sutkowski Announces Debut Solo LP “Of Wisdom & Folly,” Shares Video for First Single

“What Luck, Goodbye” arrives ahead of the Dirt Buyer vocalist’s album, out August 13 via Danger Collective.

In Conversation: Pictureplane on the Cyberpunk World of “Dopamine”

Travis Egedy discusses connecting with 100% Electronica and GothBoiClique ahead of his latest LP.

Cold Beat Return with New Single “See You Again,” Announce “War Garden” LP

The Bay Area post-punk collective’s latest release will arrive September 17 via Like LTD.

L’Orange Shares “Durbin Was a Trap House” Ahead of Newly Announced LP

“The World Is Still Chaos, But I Feel Better” is out September 3 via Mello Music Group.

“Zola” Is Much More Than Just “the Twitter Thread Movie” (Although It Doesn’t Need to Be)

How “gimmick” films like “Tangerine” and “Victoria” provided Janicza Bravo’s new movie the shorthand needed to make it great.

Signal Boost: 15 Tracks from June 2021 You Should Know

The month’s most discourse-worthy singles, according to our Senior Editor.

Fatboi Sharif Breaks Down His LP “Gandhi Loves Children” Track by Track, Shares an Early Stream of Its Deluxe Version

The expanded version of the rapper’s 2020 album with Roper Williams drops tomorrow via POW Recordings.

Maston Gets Paranormal on New Single “Ghost”

Frank Maston shares a second single ahead of the release of his new album with L’Eclair, “Souvenir.”

Free Throw Piece Together Their New LP “Piecing It Together”

The Nashville pop-punk collective walk us through their new album, out now via Triple Crown Records.

Lil Wayne Sharpens His Katana on His New Mr. Green Collaboration

“Hall of Flying Mirrors in the Palace of Versailles” is the latest in Green’s series of ninja-themed tracks with high-profile emcees.

You, Me, and Everyone We Know Let Out a Scream on “draggedacrossconcrete”

The punks return with a blistering new single featuring Mannequin Pussy’s Bear Regisford.


We won’t spam you. Promise.