LISTEN: Calexico Shares New Track “Cumbia de Donde,” Announces New Album “Edge of the Sun”

The group's new record will feature guest collaborators including Sam Beam, Neko Case, and Ben Bridwell.

Calexico has announced that their followup to 2012’s Algiers will be released this year on April 14. The album, dubbed Edge of the Sun, will feature guest appearances from Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), Ben Bridwell (Band of Horses), Nick Urata (Devotchka) and Neko Case, among others.

The album was recorded in Mexico City and Tuscon. Bandleader Joey Burns said in a statement: “All in all, this album is about pushing through the blue to brighter days. Calexico has always had that element of hope, going back and forth between a positive outlook and embracing desperate or dark themes that I think we all share.”

Check out the new single “Cumbia de Donde” below.


We won’t spam you. Promise.