Angel Olsen Announces New Album “Whole New Mess,” Shares Title Track

Most of the record’s eleven tracks are reworked from last year’s All Mirrors.

Angel Olsen has been keeping busy lately by promoting last year’s All Mirrors with a series of live streams—“Cosmic” and otherwise—which, in some cases, included new music. It seemed unlikely that those unfamiliar tracks would precede another record already, but today Olsen has announced that another LP is on the way: Whole New Mess will drop August 28 via Jagjaguwar.

In stark contrast to the full-band flourishes of her record last year, or even those in preceding years, WNM is Olsen’s first proper solo record since her debut way back in 2012. In fact, most of the songs that appear on the new record are new, stripped-down versions of tracks from All Mirrors, completely reworked from their orchestral charm. 

“I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that—I’d lost friendships, too,” Olsen explained in a press statement this morning. “When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

To introduce the record, Olsen has shared a video for the title track which clearly evinces this sonic shift. Watch it below.


We won’t spam you. Promise.