LISTEN: Unknown Mortal Orchestra Share Title Track From Upcoming New Album, “Multi-Love”

Nope, the follow-up to 2013's II won't be called III

Explorative psych-rockers Unknown Mortal Orchestra have announced that their new album Multi-Love will be released May 26 on Jagjaguwar. The third LP from the Portland-based trio, fronted by New Zealand expat Ruban Nielson, follows up 2013’s II.

The album’s title track and first single sees Nielson favoring a crunchy synthesizer over his signature idiosyncratic guitar work. The song also features some of UMO’s most prominent vocals yet, and a chorus with strong disco elements. Is psych-disco a genre yet?

In a press release, Nielson said, “It felt good to be rebelling against the typical view of what an artist is today, a curator. It’s more about being someone who makes things happen in concrete ways. Building old synthesizers and bringing them back to life, creating sounds that aren’t quite like anyone else’s. I think that’s much more subversive.”

Multi-Love tracklist:

Unknown-Mortal-Orchestra_Multi-Love_cover1. Multi-Love
2. Like Acid Rain
3. Ur Life One Night
4. Can’t Keep Checking My Phone
5. Extreme Wealth and Casual Cruelty
6. The World Is Crowded
7. Stage or Screen
8. Necessary Evil
9. Puzzles




We won’t spam you. Promise.