Ariel Pink Announces First Installment of Ariel Archives Series

The retrospective collection kicks off with Haunted Graffiti LPs Underground, Loverboy, and Odditties Vol. 2, all out October 25 on Mexican Summer.

There’s a lot more Ariel Pink coming our way in the very near future, though it seems like some of it will be up to twenty years old. Mexican Summer has announced the Ariel Archives project, unearthing music the artist recorded as Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti between 1999 and 2018. 

The first wave of albums will include the self-released 1999 tape Underground, the 2002 John Maus–featuring Loverboy, and the much anticipated second installment of Odditties, featuring collabs with Maus and Mac DeMarco, as well as a cover by The Smiths. Most of the music being written before Pink had a phone with which you could put your number into, both tracks are distinctly low budget to match the Everything Is Terrible! vibes of the project’s announcement video.

With plenty more in store for 2020 (including a film entitled Dedicated to Boris Karloff, the ten-minute announcement being culled from it), there’s still plenty to look forward to. As for now, you can sink your teeth into sample tracks “Stray Here with You” and “So Glad” per the videos below.

All three records will be available October 25 courtesy of Mexican Summer. For more information, check out the Archives website.


We won’t spam you. Promise.